Indonesia Will Open Tourism Corridor for Four Countries



Jakarta,— The Coordinating Ministry for Maritime Affairs and Investment said the Indonesian government planned to open tourism corridor or travel bubble for four countries that have a low Covid-19 transmission rate, namely China, Japan, South Korea and Australia.

Deputy of Tourism Coordination and Creative Economy at the Coordinating Ministry for Maritime Affairs and Investment, Odo RM Manuhutu stated, the government is discussing the plan with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Tourism and Economy Creative.

“We are planning travel bubble for four countries, namely China, South Korea, Japan, and Australia. It was talked about in a closed meeting on May 28, 2020,” he said in Jakarta on Friday, June 12.

Travel bubble is the opening of a cross-border zone that allows the citizens of a country to travel as long as they don’t go beyond the determined area. New Zealand and Australia are the first countries that discuss this policy.

Odo conveyed that the four countries were chosen because of the growing number of tourists who visited Indonesia. Moreover, the four countries have invested a lot in Indonesia.

However, to open the travel bubble, there are several aspects needed to consider, like healthcare, security, and technical preparation.

He said it is now in the middle of discussion with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and it will also be talked about by several countries. There will be a negotiation process to agree on the criteria set by Indonesia in accordance with the criteria of tourism corridor destination countries.

“After the agreement set, we can open this travel bubble in two or four weeks. There have been some requests to reopen certain borders,” he stated. (sh/republika/tempo)